medical books new student

Medical School Beginnings – Musings

Med school has started.
That’s one sentence I once thought that I would never say! But here I am, surrounded by 4 medical textbooks, from the previous night session of studying the gross anatomy of the heart.

Med school here in Aus is really different from what I’m used to back home. PBLs are quite daunting, as is trying to fit in in a completely new culture and environment. I’ve been attending orientation activities, and will attend more. I’ve been talking to lots of my other classmates, but still never feel quite as comfortable with this whole thing. BUT! It is only the third day, and I know I’ll be able to get over it soon.
I almost can’t believe that I’m actually here, realising my dream of so many years. I remember the 2011 me, all devastated from being rejected by the undergrad medical school back home. Wish I could tell her that everything will be okay and there will always be opportunities and she just have to recognise and grab them!
I’m really excited for what’s coming up.
For now, I’ll just hit the books and prep for my first clinical skills class!
2 thoughts on “Medical School Beginnings – Musings

  1. XD your experience seems really fast paced. I’m in my second year, and I quite frankly don’t even recall picking up books in the first week or so. Just take it one step at a time and work hard, play hard! (I guess work more important)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

